Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

“She is your mirror, shining back at you with a world of possibilities. She is your witness, who sees you at your worst and best, and loves you anyway. She is your partner in crime, your midnight companion, someone who knows when you are smiling, even in the dark. She is your teacher, your defense attorney, your personal press agent, even your shrink. Some days, she’s the reason you wish you were an only child.”
Barbara Alpert

I have two brothers. While I hold them close to my heart I still wonder what it would have been like to have a sister. The relationship I have witnessed amongst other sisters is unlike any relationship I have come to know. There is an unspoken friendship, a likeness, a secret humor that only the other one gets. I know friends say that they feel like they are sisters but I don’t think it’s quite the same.

So I wasn’t blessed with a sister but I know god had something better in mind for me when he blessed me with two daughters. I get to witness their love, their friendship, their fight to be superior to one another. The smallest things in life are the biggest through their eyes.  They notice things only a child would notice.  They chase butterflies, capture ladybugs, and explore their surroundings while taking in all the beauty of the world.  They see what we have forgotten to see and they share it with each other.  It will be memories imprinted in their minds to carry through a lifetime.

Growing up I have watched my mother and my aunts relationship.  It’s almost like being on the outside of a window looking in.  I never understood their humor, their jokes, their body language, or the way they have looked at each other and spoke without speaking.  I’m sure after spending your whole childhood experiencing every experience possible with your other half, you probably learn to know them more than they know their-selves.  I could imagine it’s a gift like no other but I could only imagine.

Watching my daughters grow up so close together is a gift in its own.  They whisper secrets, they imagine, they play, they believe in the un-believable.  I hardly have to entertain because they are the entertainers.  The big sister always watches so carefully after the little one.  She is careful, she is protective, she already has a mothers warmth.  The little sister follows every little step, she mimics, she shows off, she awaits her sisters approval.

To witness their bond is as close as I will ever have to a sister.  Together they are amazing and they are mine.  Their friendship, their love, their adventures, and their secrets.

“To have a loving relationship with a sister is not simply to have a buddy or a confident — it is to have a soul mate for life.” Victoria Secunda

 

“A sister is a gift to the heart, a friend to the spirit, a golden thread to the meaning of life.”~Isadora James

 

“Of two sisters, one is always the watcher, one the dancer.”~Louise Glück

 

A sister can be seen as someone who is both ourselves and very much not ourselves – a special kind of double.”~ Toni Morrison

If you enjoyed reading this please feel free to click the image below and it will count for a vote for Cozzis Corner on Top Mommy Blogs.

