Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Every year we gather around the table as a family.  We get to be with those we haven’t seen in a long time and we get to cook together in one household.  As the world changes, so have we.  Families are more and more separated, children seem more distracted and distant than ever before, and parents are so caught up in daily life that we forget to see the greatness that surrounds our homes.

What A Year

 This year has been a crazy one for us.  We search for months in agonizing stress trying to buy a home.  I went through a very upsetting miscarriage only to pull through with better clarity.  My daughter became sick and hospitalized and it became one of the most stressful moments of my life.  Our car broke down.  I have been so caught up in the stress that I feel has hit our home that I haven’t taken a moment to see the good in all that has blessed our lives this year.

Gratitude

In all that is bad, there is much more good and we just forget to see it.  We bought a home.  Wow, what a great accomplishment that was for our family. So many years we talked about owning our own home.  It had always seemed so far away for us and now we have finally done it.  We have always wanted a brand new car and we got one of those too!  My daughter got better and she continues to do so.  The presence of my children is golden.  They are every bit of sunshine in my life.  I love their smiles, I love their growing minds, and I love how they love whole heartedly.

Gratitude is giving thanks for what is good in your life.  It is what makes families, marriages, and friends stay close together.  I forget to do it too often.  On a month that is based on giving thanks I vow to do only that.

I am so thankful for my friends who live far away and for my friends who live close (you know who you are):)  From memories created long ago and memories still fresh in the mind, I will always hold you close in my heart because you helped pave the road that I walk today.

I am so thankful for my family related and unrelated.  I am rich in heart because of your love.  Your smiles and your hugs, they all mean so much and  my gratitude is the strongest when I am in the presence of all of you.

I am so thankful for the things that I have.  Materials are not everything, that is for sure.  I may not have great things but I have found happiness in what I do have because I know that there are many who have much less and I continue to pray for those who are not so fortunate.

And to whom I owe the most gratitude…my husband.  After ten years of a pretty strong union, I still find ways to gripe about the unnecessary.  I lose appreciation and I become more of a nag then a wife.  You have always taken great care of us and I appreciate every bit of it. I thank you for all that you have done for us.

It’s amazing what gratitude does for you.  It really brings you home to what is important.  Everyday I grow and I learn.  Everyday I will try to give thanks!

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you and to all of your families!

